Business NewsLatest News

Tata Motors Extends Partnership as Title Sponsor for Tata Open Maharashtra

Tata Motors Tata Open Maharashtra

Tata Motors will continue to support the Tata Open Maharashtra tennis tournament.

Tata Altroz as Lead Car for Tata Open Maharashtra

In tune with its “Sportification of India” theme, Tata Motors will continue to proactively support the Tata Open Maharashtra tennis tournament, for the fourth consecutive year, from 31st January to 6th February, 2022 at the Balewadi stadium, in Pune.

This year, India’s safest hatchbacks, Tata Altroz on its second anniversary, will be the lead car from Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles.

The Tata Open Maharashtra, South Asia’s only ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals) tournament and country’s oldest sporting international event, is a flagship an important association for Tata Motors. It has been at the forefront of India’s mobility revolution for 75+ years and continues to offer an extensive range of smart, sustainable and integrated mobility solutions, a diverse portfolio that includes cars, sports utility vehicles, trucks, buses and defence vehicles.

The prestigious IMG-owned tournament, organised by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association and licensed by Rise World, was supported by Tata also for a brief period from 2002-2004 when it was held in Chennai. The Tata Group offered to support the event once gain after it was shifted to Pune in 2018 and the partnership has grown stronger since.

This year, nine players from the top 100 are in the fray. The draw will be headlined by World No.15, Russian Aslan Karatsev who was judged ATP’s Most Improved Player of the Year in 2021 and recently won the Sydney Tennis Classic title defeating Andy Murray. On the home front, Yuki Bhambri (singles) Rohan Bopanna and Ramkumar Ramanathan (doubles) have secured direct entry.

Historically, India’s only ATP event has seen participation by World’s top players like Rafael Nadal, Stan Wawrinka, Marin Cilic, Carlos Moya, Pat Rafter and their ilk besides India’s top guns, Somdev Devvarman, and doubles icons Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi.

The fourth edition of the tournament is all set to make its return after a one-year break, due to Covid-19 pandemic. The qualifying rounds are scheduled for January 30 and 31, while the main draws will kick off on 1st February.

News by date

The Latest

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a section of articles every weeks

You May Also Like