Breaking NewsBusiness NewsLatest News

Volkswagen ID. Buzz Cargo Wins the International Van of the Year Award 2023

Volkswagen Buzz Cargo Van

Volkswagen in the shape of the ID. Buzz Cargo has just been announced as International Van of the Year 2023 (IVOTY).

Volkswagen ID.Buzz Cargo Awarded as the “International Van of the Year 2023”

At a special awards ceremony at the H’Up Conference Centre on the evening of the press day of the IAA Transportation exhibition at the Hannover Messe, Germany Dr. Carsten Intra, CEO, Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles (VWCV) was presented with the IVOTY 2023 trophy from Jarlath Sweeney, Chairman, IVOTY.

The 24 member pan-European expert journalistic judging panel collectively awarded the new all-electric Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles ID. Buzz 110 points, just ten marks ahead of its nearest challenger, the new Ford Pro E-Transit. The Renault Kangoo E-Tech Van, Nissan Townstar Zero-Emission & Mercedes-Benz eCitan were jointly placed in third position. The other shortlisted candidates included new models from the Fiat Professional Doblò & Scudo ranges. Coincidentally, the three podium positions were filled by electrically powered vans.

Internal combustion versions of the Renault Kangoo Van & Mercedes-Benz eCitan won last year’s IVOTY 2022 Award. The new ID. Buzz is the case in point and has been duly honoured with this award, the highest accolade in the light commercial vehicle industry. Congratulations to Volkswagen Commercial Vehicle‘s design team on creating this unique vehicle that’s perfect for the environmentally conscious urban environment. It certainly makes a statement with its futuristic and slick styling, yet harks back to the original Transporter T1, from 70 years ago, with its V shaped bonnet, prominent VW badge, and short overhangs.

Now in its 31st year, the main criteria for the International Van of the Year Award is the vehicles’ contribution to the efficiency, safety, sustainability and environmental standards of the light commercial vehicle sector. To be eligible, the vehicle must be new, in series production by the end of the year for which it receives the award, and present a significant technological innovation.

News by date

The Latest

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive a section of articles every weeks

You May Also Like